Well well well…

06Mar07

We went to the Bible quiz tournament in Fresno this weekend.  I’ll be honest.  I did TERRIBLE!  lol  I haven’t studied hard enought, which I really need to do wayyyyy harder for the next tournament.  Pray for my distracted mind.  I worked on a chapter today with my mom, and I think I’ve got it down better.  Now I just need to work on all the rest.  And memorized hundreds more scriptures.  Thanks for everyone that prayed for me…I know I need to do my part, even if it is hard.  I did have a good time at the tournament though.  The junior team from our church came in 3rd place.  Matthew got 6th individual high scorer.  Go Matt!!!  They did good.  Make us proud, Oakley!

10 Responses to “Well well well…”

  1. Jen,

    I know you didn’t do as well as you would have liked to have done, but I am still proud of you for all the verses that you have memorized. I am praying for you and all the quizzers.

    Love,
    Mom

  2. Hey girl…that Bible quizzing is hard work, even with valient efforts. AND very competetive, eh? Don’t be hard on yourself for the most important thing is that God’s word abides in your heart & in your head. I quizzed….let’s say MANY, years ago and some of those scriptures are just like my own name. It’s awesome, Jen…studious congrats to your hard work & harder work next time. :o)

  3. Hi Jen. I’ll be praying for you to have the right kind of attitude when studying and to remember what you learn. But even more I’m praying for you to have the kind of comprehension that molds your life.

    Some people are better at memorizing things (Bible verses, poems, etc.) than others, but everyone can learn what it means to follow Jesus through hard times and choose to do so. If we follow Jesus, we win!

  4. Jen: Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee. – Ps. 119:11. You’re probably the only one who thinks you did terrible. I think you’re doing EXCELLENT, and I KNOW you’ll do better next time. You’re a TOP QUIZZER in my book! I think Oakley has 2 good teams. Wooh!

  5. 5 Tena

    Jen, just do your best. If you think you need to spend more time studying, then do it. But, don’t be too hard on yourself, too. All the scriptures you have learned was NOT in vain! My boys did it for a couple of years and they still remember a lot of the scriptures. Hiding the Word of God in our hearts (minds) will benefit us forever. I’m rooting and praying for you! Love, Tena

  6. hey wen u left me that comment on my blog like where u at im first thinkin jen im not a cell fone lol

  7. 7 Jen

    lol I meant cause I haven’t heard from you forever…So I was saying more like “where did you go?” What’s up?

  8. Jen, Let me add my little bit along with everyone else. Don’t be to hard on yourself. My husband quizzed many years ago and when he quotes some scriptures and even whole chapters, he tells how he learned it in Bible Quizzing. Keep up the good work.

  9. 9 Jen

    Thank you for the encouragment everyone!

  10. Jenga:

    Whether you do good in quizzing or not so good, you’re still a winner because you’re hiding the Word of God in your heart. It’s such a valuable treasure to have His Word in our hearts. It will come back to us when we need it most. So keep studying, do the best you can, but don’t berate yourself.

    Love,
    Aunt Kiki


Leave a Reply

