Guess I’m back for a while!

24Aug06

Sorry everyone…I’ve been gone a while, but I’m doing a blog post now.  Last Monday thru Friday, I was at Jr. Youth Camp, at Camp Sylvester, in Sonora, CA.  FUN!  I got to meet a lot of new people, and get to know other people even better.  We have really good church there.  I got there, and soon found out that I was the camp piano player.  OH NO!  (I’m sure it was one of my first thoughts.)  But I was used by God, and had lots of fun with it too.  My friend Rebekka and I helped with the choir.  My friend Bre and I went against two guys for a competition.  We each got a can of coke, and a licorice stick.  At the count of three, we had to open the can of coke, bite both sides of the licorice stick off, drink the coke through it using it as a straw, and then eat the licorice stick.  I almost won!  But not quite…it was hard.  A boy named Daniel from my old church beat me.  All the kids were going crazy cheering for people to win.  We had a drum off that same night.  (A drum competition.)  A boy from my church named Zach won! 

They also had a talent show, and my dad did some sleight of hand tricks at the bonfire.  Then I led in a funny camp song.  They had a joke contest.  All these things were fun, especially just talking with everyone and hanging out.  But the most important thing was the way God was there with us.  He touched many hearts.  He’s awesome.  If you haven’t experienced the Holy Ghost, (Acts 2:38) you are missing out BIG TIME!  It is the most wonderful thing that can happen to you.  God speaks through you in a language you can’t understand.  You don’t even know what you’re saying.  It’s evidence that you’re letting God take control of your life.  Kids experienced this at camp.  It can happen over and over, and you just feel so good and loved by God.  My bottom line is this:  Camp was great, God is awesome, and everyone needs Him.  I’ll post more things later!!!

6 Responses to “Guess I’m back for a while!”

  1. Hi Jen, Glad you’re back in the blogging world. It sounds like you had a good time at camp in both the physical and spiritual activities.

  2. Look at you!~ camp pianst! I was filled with the Holy Ghost at youth camp. Camp IS great & God IS awesome!

  3. Jen,

    bonfire and sleight of hand

    You know it’s only because I love you.

    Mom

  4. P.S. This really is a nice post, and I was blessed to see you using your talent for God at camp.

    xoxo

  5. 5 Jen

    Thanks Mom, I fixed it. 😉

    Hi Carmen! Thanks for visiting my blog. I know you’re friends with my uncle. I think I even have some pictures of Gracie on a calender that he makes for the family every year. 😀

  6. sounds like fun wen and where is it


Leave a Reply

