Prayer

19Jul06

 child-praying.jpg

Prayer is a powerful thing, but often we forget.  We try to handle things all ourselves, which only gets us into more trouble.  We should always take our problems to God in prayer.  3 1/2 years ago, we left the church I grew up in, and moved to another city, where God was calling us to start a church.  The city is small, and I’m homeschooled.  I left all my friends.  We started church in our living room, with just my family.  Then we got a buliding to rent.  Through the first year of living here, I hadn’t really made a good friend to hang out with.  Just a few in the neighborhood.  I felt miserable, and I would cry a lot, because of having to leave everything behind.  I didn’t realize that if I would have just given it all to God, that He would take care of it all.  One Sunday, before church, my dad had a long talk with me.  He told me that if I would let go of all those hard feelings about leaving, and just ask God to help me, that He would, and that it would get better.  At first, it felt like I couldn’t.  But, He helped me, because I ended up trusting him, and asking Him to help me.  Now that I look back, I realize how much of a blessing it was for me to move to the city I live in now.  So many new things have started in my life, and God has blessed me.  Carry everything to God in prayer.  And yes, we do carry things to God in prayer, and sometimes it seems like nothing is happening.  But God hears our prayers, whether He says Yes, No, or Wait.  We need to pray according to His will.  He might say no to some of our prayers, because He has a better plan for us, or because He knows that what you’re asking for, may affect you down the line.  But it’s so important to keeping praying, and trusting God.  “And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall recieve.”  Matthew 21:22  But remember, we have to pray according to His will.  God loves everybody, and wants to bless everyone, but we need to sumbit ourselves to Him, and trust Him.  Over the past year, I have gotten to know Him, and my life has gotten a lot better.  When you know you can rely on Him to always be there, life is better.  I know, I’m only 14, and I’m not trying to be some little spiritual kid, a know it all about God.  I just want to share what I’ve learned, and what He’s done for me.  And praying is important.  Thank you, Jesus.

11 Responses to “Prayer”

  1. yeah i am guilty for that tryin to do everythin myself w/o any help

  2. 2 Carol

    Some very good insights on prayer, Jen. I’m proud of you!

    Mamacita

    P.S. Don’t forget to capitalize “him” when referring to God.

  3. What a beautiful post, Jen. It is beautiful, because it is true.

  4. 4 Jen

    Thank you, Helen!

  5. i agree w/ helen but i say pretty lol

  6. 6 Jen

    Thanks Daniel, and Helen. “Yes Mother,” I forgot, but I fixed them now. 😉

  7. 7 Becky

    I agree with Helen. Your post IS beautiful And that submitting to God thing is hard, sometimes, isn’t it?

    Thank you also for your kind comment about the widgets on my site. Now I just have to figure out the smilies!

  8. Thanks, Becky. Yes, it can be hard, but it’s worth it. Sometimes when I struggle, I just think about how getting to Heaven is all that really matters. lol
    Smilies are easy.

    Step 1. :

    Step 2. D

    This is how it will look when you submit the comment: 😀

  9. 9 Tena

    😀

  10. 10 Tena

    It didn’t work! : ( I think you and Daniel have special “smilies power” in you! Ha! : D.

  11. 11 Jen

    For some reason the smilies don’t seem to work at the beginning of the page.
    Don’t put any spaces between the dots and the D. lol 😀


Leave a Reply

